Whats your major?

Monica

I'm always second guessing my chosen major. I ask myself is this worthwhile? Will it get me the job I want? Is it cost effective?

So, what did you major in and do you regret it or has it paid off?

drinks.gif

dyingforyou

i majored in history (general- not teaching) and i was like 3 classes away from having an english lit minor. i absolutely love my major, but when i was a senior i found out that all the museums in my area, and most likely ALL museums, require you to have a masters degree before they'll hire you onto their staff. because i'm so much in debt from student loans and grants, i decided to hold off on going to grad school. i know i could have gone on and my pay period would have been pushed back because i was still in school, but i didn't want to be even more in debt when i got out, y'know?

i graduated may 2013 and so currently i've been working at ebay for the last year (i started there with the mindset that i'd pay off some loans then go to grad school), which obviously has absolutely nothing to do with my major. it kills me because i spent four years and so much time/money getting my b.a. to not even be using it. we had some major news at work last week and with that i decided that when a certain client's contract is up, i'm either going to go back to grad school or enroll into a esthetician program here because like everyone else here, makeup is another big passion of mine. honestly from over the course of the last year, i'll probably be doing the esthetician course because all this stuff regarding grad school/masters has really deterred me from wanting to do it :\ it doesn't help that i work mainly in the beauty department at work lol i'll always love history because it's so me and no other major really described me as well as that does, and i don't regret having done it as my major because it'll at least be something to fall back on too but i just wish i would have known about the museum stuff sooner.

emmxbee