Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Makeup Artist Licenses

Which states require a license for working as an MA?
    Everyone... Add my MAC myspace account

http//:www.myspace.com/maclady31

i know that in maryland you don't HAVE to have one to work as an MA, but a lot of the stores around here give that more preference when hiring.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Pink_lily
    i know that in maryland you don't HAVE to have one to work as an MA, but a lot of the stores around here give that more preference when hiring.

To work at a counter in MD that is correct. To work at a salon (and possibly as an independant as well) you require a license.
    J'aurais voulu ne pas mourir, j'aurais voulu ne jamais grandir, j'aurais voulu me casser l'ame.

Specktra.net FAQ Forum: http://specktra.net/forumdisplay.php?f=190
    Specktra Industry Discussion Forum: http://specktra.net/forumdisplay.php?f=194

I mean i'm not from MD, and I work as a makeup artist. I have in pittsburgh PA and now in dayton Ohio. I didnt think you needed a license for makeup ANYWHERE until i saw a post on here. I was just wondering which states DO require it out of curiosity

Washington state does as well. I'm not sure all the states which do, but I do know that some require them for various types of makeup work. Licences require passage of a board exam, similar to those required for working as an aestetician/hair stylist, and are run by the each state individually.
    J'aurais voulu ne pas mourir, j'aurais voulu ne jamais grandir, j'aurais voulu me casser l'ame.

I live in MD and am liscensed as a manicurist and am a makeup artist, but I do not have a seperate liscense(ie esth,mua).
    I never had a problem when working in a store, but when I did makeup at the salon I definately had to have my lic clearly visible.
    "You wouldn't spend so much time worrying about what others thought of you, if you knew how little time they actually did." George Carlin

CA does, I'm pretty sure.

Hi there