Help! I desperately want to work for mac/benefit/napoleon etc...

girloflowers

OK here goes...

I'm 16, I'm about to turn 17 and I'm currently in my last year of high school.
Once I finish I'm going to study makeup at either the Napoleon perdis academy or the Australian academy of makeup (owned by 'gorgeous cosmetics').

Thing is, i want to get some.. I dunno, practice in i suppose. But since i don't have any professional experience with makeup i have a feeling I'm pushing my luck, you know?

I'd give up my hair.. hell, i'd give up sleeping in a bed to work for Mac or Benefit! Makeup is my passion, it's expressive, you can change the look of someone just with a brush stroke, there's always more to learn and most of all- it's so fun!

I was wondering, do any of you girls or guys think i have a hope in hell if i apply at the local cosmetics counters or the mac store in paddington?

I want a job working for a cosmetics line more than anything, i mean hell, i want it more than i want to finish my HSC. I'd give anything to be a professional makeup artist.

So what are some tips? Do i need to get a portfolio together? Is it a good idea to wear all black or will just a little do? When i hand over my resume, should i be wearing extravagant makeup or just some pretty neutrals? How nice is too nice o_O?

I'll accept any help I can get!

Thanks in advance and I'll keep you updated as i apply
smiles.gif

lara

Finish your HSC first and foremost, and give some serious impartial thought in regards to why you want to go to a cosmetics college. They're very expensive in Australia and you really need to evaluate whether you want to do this because you know you have the drive to make a business out of this or are you doing it because you want to play with make-up - there's no reason to get $12,000 in debt because you think playing with lipstick might be fun.