I have a bit of a problem/situation!!

Stephie Baby

I'm a big MAC addict! Even if I'm broke with no money, I always like going to MAC and talking to the MA's. The bad thing is, I don't even know most of their names. Lol. Anyway, today I went and was just browsing around. I started talking to this one MA and I was talking about how I use to have a hard time with blending bla bla bla. Well she said my make up looked awesome and it was blended great. Then she asked if I was a make up artist. I said no, I wish. She told me that I should come in and apply for an interview. My problem is I don't have a portfolio at all and I have no friends to help me start one. Lol.

So what am I suppose to do? If I do decide to apply, do I have to know everything like the skin care and all the names of everything?? YIKES!!

erine1881

you don't have to have a portfolio. if you do, that's great, but its not a requirement.

you do need to know about the product. you don't have to know everything about every single product, but you do need to know at least the basics, if not more, of makeup application.

and since mac doesn't teach you how to apply makeup, you need to know how to apply it to someone else, WITH BRUSHES!!! its one thing to do your own makeup, its a whole other story doing someone elses. and you won't believe how many people apply at my counter and have no clue how to use a brushes. yeah, their application goes straight in the trash.

if you get called for an interview, you do a full face makeup application, so you need to know how to match and apply foundation, a complete eye (at least three colors, liner and mascara) and lips and cheeks. and you need to talk like an artist, explaining what you are doing and why. this is why you need to know what certain colors do to facial features.

you don't need to know all about the skincare line. mac trains you on all the products when you go to basic/update.