halloween experiment

bartp

hi guys and girls,

I've been experimenting with McQueen stuff, Matte2 and Antiquitease stuff. It's all in the spirit of Halloween and a small disclaimer: the looks might seem a bit over-done or too powerful , but keep in mind that my background is theatre makeup and that i start bold, and then decide to tone things down. Hopefully it will spark some inspiration for you guys. Thanks for any comments,

This is more detailed information about:
- products used
- inspiration and goals
- problems achieving the look

These are the products that I used for the experiment:

E. Lauder Maximum Cover base
Paint Pot "Pharaoh" (emerald Green, McQueen Collection)
Technakohl Eyeliner "Archival"
msf e/s "By Jupiter" (gold - silver - taupe)
e/s "Beatuy Marked" ( black with red pearl)
Matte 2 Clarity (teal blue)
Fluidline eyeliner "non conformist" (pale lavender)

Goal:

I want something dramatic, that'll work on stage and that will be combined with a pale face and lips. Call it 'Medusa' or call it 'looks like you just have a punch and a black eye'. You could also see it as an experiment with a smokey eye. Most of the time you get the smokey eye effect with highlighter and various tones of a same dark color. I wanted to use the same dark colors but combine them with bold colors into a smokey eye effect.

Problems:

blending the McQueen green into your normal skintone isn't easy , esp. if you use them at the outer edges of your eye makeup
the trick with this look was the dark black eyeshadow that frames the eye and is used as a base for the other colors.
layering Milady purple on black eyeshadow seems to bring out the purple, and makes it more intense than applying purple on bare skin