Moving to Another State and Need your advice!!

M.A.C.tastic

Hi!!

Right now my Husband and I live in Baltimore, Md (suburbs) where we have our whole life. Unfortunatly, there has been an increase in crime around us and they have put in a subway/bus line which has brought nothing but scum to our area.

Anyway, we have been wanting to move and I graduate from cosmetology school in 5 months so I want to start looking now. The hubby and I have made a list of possible places and I would love to get some opinions (esp. if you live in or near one of our choices)!!!

I would love to know about the crime/schools/neighborhoods/etc.

1. Alaska (maybe Anchorage)
2. Colorado
3. Seattle
4. Chicago (suburbs, oak park, evanston, highland park/my Aunt lives here)
5. Florida (Del Ray, Boca)
6. Vancouver B.C. (since I'm a MUA and Stylist might be able to find good work?)

Sorry this was so long...Thanks so much for your input!!!!
yahoo.gif

ShugAvery2001

Chicago is a great place to live. All of the burbs you've mentioned are great. I live in orland park. it was listed top 50 places to live in forbes magazine.

ElleMariachi

I go to school in Evanston, and it is a wonderful place--lots of good schools, very family-oriented, nice restaurants, close to public transportation, and it has a college town-y feel to it. I grew up in Chicago (still live in the city) and there are a lot of great places to live there, as well. Also, my best friend lives in Vancouver--it is terrific as well, but living costs are pretty high right now, according to her, but if you can swing it, it's a beautiful place too.

Janice

We're moving to the Denver area next year (spring/summer '09), it's beautiful and the quality of living seems really good.

Jinni

I lived in Seattle for 3 years, and it was great. I taught at the University of Washington, and I really liked the city. It never felt like there was a lot of crime, at least I never encountered any.