Need Work Advice! Help!

abbyquack

Ok so maybe someone here has been in a similar predicament. I have been working on and off for the same company for about 4 years. This summer I have been offered a management position, and I was very excited to take this step up in the company. I was a supervisor last summer and it was kinda a breeze, but this new management position is very intense, and a lot of responsibility rides on my shoulders. I am excited for the new experience it will offer me. I didn't ask what the pay was going to be when I accepted the position because it was not the #1 priority, and also because I know (for a fact) what the previous 2 women in the same position made, and so I guess I assumed it would be in the same ballpark.

However, today I got my position agreement via email and the amount is significantly less than I expected. From me being a supervisor last year to a manager this year, I am basically getting a .50 raise! Which is like, $20 a week more, less than that after taxes. It's not that I can't get by on the pay, because I will be fine, but I also feel that for the intricacy of the job, it's kind of insulting. I want to negotiate with my boss to see if I can't get a slightly higher rate, but I don't want to offend anyone or make them think I am being greedy. Especially since I have never raised the issue of pay. What is a good way to confront this issue? Any good lines I need to know? Or should I just keep quiet and accept the current pay?
th_dunno.gif

Shadowy Lady