UPCOMING MAKEUP ARTIST

NYCHERRY02

hello i'm just starting out as a freelance makeup artist and my question is i have lots of eyeshadows,blush,lipstick,pigments and so forth. but how do i build my foundation and powder collection for models without knowing if it's the right color. because in the industry sometimes you won't know the models and you have to have foundation for them, but i don't want to go and buy all this powder and foundation and never use it becasue it's not the right shade. so far i have been telling the models to bring their base which is fondation,powder and concealer. i would like to know any tips b/c i want to be ableto have the foundations and powders in my collection!

Endit

A MA said that buying various shades of colors is helpful because you can mix foundations till it fits the model. Just have some dark, light, and cool/warm. Also, try to see if there is any trend in skin tones (or for the ones you work on), so you can expect what to do.

fabulouscazza

Try also talking to the sales assistants at the counters and finding out which colours are mostly used. You may be able to buy a few of the more popular shades, and as mentioned, maybe mix them to create another shade, if you need to.

jeanna

Have you already established a clientele? Or are you able to at least anticipate what general colouring the majority of your clients will fall under? The reason I'm asking is because if your clients at this time are all in the same general category, then you don't need to invest in a ton of foundation shades at this time, you can buy 2 shades and mix together as needed.