Work issues, am I justified to be upset?

Shadowy Lady

hey guys I wanted to just ask your opinion about something that happened at work last Thursday and am still thinking about it....I have no idea why I'm so upset though :/

A lil bit of background: as some of you know, I work in the very male dominated field of mechanical engineering and as part of my job, I do routine construction site inspections (few times a week). I've been at this job for 2.5 years now and work under my young-ish supervisor (he's in his mid thirties). We usually get along great, he's an amazing mentor.

Anyway, I was supposed to be in the office all day on Thursday and took the opportunity to really dress up and wore a nice shift dress and heels. I do this often when I know I'll be in the office and not on site. You're not supposed to wear skirts on site as part of safety plan. I got a bunch of compliments from random folks in the office on how I looked. But then I went to ask my supervisor for something and as soon as he sees me he goes: "are you gonna go to site like that??". I was really annoyed to hear that. First of all he knew I was gonna be in the office all day. Second of all he's aware that I have a pair of pants in my car in case I have to do site visits unexpectedly (he knows that too). And lastly I've had this job for 2.5 years, you think I know how to dress accordingly!!!
angry.gif

Anyway, I was really really pissed! I feel like I was pretty much called stupid or something! Or he's just been a jackass or maybe even sexist
th_dunno.gif
And I totally didn't expect to hear that from him. I'm actually still upset even though it's been 4 days since the occurrence. I usually don't let what ppl say get to me so I don't know why I'm so upset. The day after every time I saw my supervisor, I'd remember what he said and get annoyed so i just avoided him all day. But I can't really do that forever u know....I wish he'd apologize
ssad.gif