Any runners here???

Corvs Queen

I want to start jogging/running in an attempt to lose my baby weight. I would be running on hard ground in the open. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am going to look at shoes tomorrow. Is there something special I should look for when buying shoes. I am a complete newb at exercise in general so any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Simply Elegant

I'm a runner but I don't have the best advice for shoes since mine suck, but I do interval training and it works well for me. Couch to 5K is a good start for that. You'll be able to improve pretty quickly. It'll give you breaks when you need to slow down but you'll be pushing yourself really hard during the fast parts and changing speed will keep your metabolism burning at a high rate. Running was the hardest thing for me to do to start out. I could run 2 minutes but now can run an hour. If you need extra motivation, sign up for a 5K in a few months and prepare for it now to keep you going and getting you ready for it.

Luceuk

I started with the Couch to 5K and it is really good. It's a great way to get you into running.

Corvs Queen

Just giving this a little bump.
smiles.gif

ArelysAdriana

Couch to 5k is the best. I started it in January and fell in love.

I'm now working my ass off to train for the Disney World half marathon in January 2009
th_DANCE.gif

shorty

I think im gonna try this couch to 5k thing, i can run on a treadmill but am sick of paying £40 a month just to use a treadmill when going outdoors is free!! last time i tried outside though it felt so hard, MUCH different from a treadmill so im gonna give this a shot!!!

persephonewillo

thank you all! i know i didn't start this thread, but i've been trying to get into running to get in shape. the couch to 5k program sounds awesome! and do-able!
greengrin.gif

Corvs Queen