Applying For My First Job!

TeaCup

So..

I've applied at atleast a million places, but no ones called me back yet. I'm a great and confident writer so filling out applications is easy and even slightly fun for me.

But... (And isn't their always a but?) I'm so awkward around people that when I go to turn them in, I don't feel like I connect with the potential employer.

I'm intelligent, but I'm shy and not very good being social, which counts for a lot. It also doesn't help I show up in ripped up jeans and teeshirts.

So, my question for you lovely ladies is; what's proper attire to wear (I'm applying at places like petsmart, local cafes, sub shops, nice but really casual places) and how do I 'sell' myself to these people?

Thank you so much in advance!!!

Beauty Mark

You can always do khakis and a nice button down shirt. For retail, unless it's like Macy's, you can generally do nice, non-ripped jeans and a nice button down.

If helps matters, think of your interview clothes as like a costume for being yourself but polished and grown up. That's helped people I know do better on interviews and be more confident.

Dizzy

I've always found a nice shirt (not a regular everyday t-shirt, but a little bit of a dressier one), casual nice jeans and flats are always reliable. If you're applying for retail they're usually not too picky.

And as for the connection with people: my trick is to smile. I was the shiest person you could ever think of (I wouldn't even talk to cashiers- I always had someone else do it for me!), but then I started to realize that people get a better impression of you if you smile and are just generally polite when meeting them. Hand apps to managers if you can, shake their hand, and thank them for their time.

Good luck! Let us know how everything goes.
smiles.gif

MisStarrlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beauty Mark