Benefit help?

Diorcat1

OK, so I'm so freaking excited!!!! I've been a make-up artist for a year and my main ambition is to be on the MAC pro team, unfortunately I have hardly any retail experience so trying to get a counter job has been horrible, plus the recession hasn't helped!!
angry.gif

So after constantly sneding out CVs, emailing HR dpts of different dpt stores, I finally have a phone interview with Benefit!!! Now, I don't know what to do, lol, anyone workign for Benefit already that can give me some advice??

Its a great counter and great products and although I'm a MAC fan through and through, its such an awesome awesome company to get my first start in!!

Please any advice is gonna be SO SO SO much appreciated!

specktra_rocks.gif

User49

Hi there! I now work for mac and have been there for about a year and a bit. Before working for mac I worked for Benefit for nine months. Now I'm certain that working for Benefit helped me get a job at mac as previous i had no 'retail cosmetic' experience.

I would warn you however, Benefit is VERY different to mac. It's not really what you would call a 'colour' brand. There is a strict system of how they sell products which is very very pushy. You will also be required to traffic stop. This is how they do buisness. You have to spend a whole day walking up to people and saying "come and sit down let me show you some products". Your sales will be almost 85% based on this approach and its VERY hard core!! I did it for nine months and although I enjoyed the interaction with customers and all the lovely products, I got fed up of having to only show 'certain products' to customers before i could show them the rest.

I think it definitly helped me get a job with mac. Previous to Benefit I had experience in make up freelance and it is my passion so that was a huge help in my mac interview, but as far as prooving you can sell makeup benefit was great.