Do I Need a Face Primer?

Elusive21

I've been hearing a lot about face primers and I was just wondering if I really need one? I've never used one before so I feel like I don't need it, but if it will really make my foundation stay on my face longer, maybe I'll give it a try. I'm curious about what else primers are used for. What have your guys's experiences with face primers been and which ones would you recommend?

A couple that I have been looking at online are "Clinique Pore Minimizer Instant Perfector" and MAC prep and prime face products.

gildedangel

Primers are not really a necessity, but I like the one I use because it has SPF and it helps my makeup stay on longer. I use MAC Prep and Prime SPF 50 and I really like it, although it is not a product for everyone.

Candy Christ

I think that primers are a necessity for everyone. You should try the Monistat Chafing Relief Powder Gel. It's only eight dollars and it works really good.

kaliraksha

I think some of it depends on your climate, skin type, makeup type used. I really like my primer because I live in a hot sometimes humid area where my makeup can just melt off... I also love the even application I get from using a primer. You may want to try the small Smashbox tube sold at Sephora first to see if primer is beneficial to you.

RedRibbon

Clinique's pore minimiser is pretty rubbish as a pore minimiser, it made mine look bigger if anything. I use Benefit's Dr Feelgood for my pores but I feel a primer on its own would be good.

I used a sample of the Smashbox one, I put too much on and it made me look furry but it really made a difference to my face in pics, sans foundation I looked very smooth so I can only imagine what it will do with foundation.

kimmy