Does Your 109 Shed??

shadowaddict

I just recently purchased the 109 brush and started using it for my Studio Sculpt foundation. But I keep getting hairs all over my face. I washed it before I ever used it like I do all my brushes and wash after each use. It has been washed now 8--10 times and I'm still getting hairs stuck to my face as I am doing my foundation. I bought this from my MAC store so it's not a fake. Could I be doing something wrong here?

I am new to using a brush for my foundation as I have always found it easier to use clean fingers. Even with this since SS is more creamy than liquid I dab some on my face with my finger then in circle motions blend and buff. I do like that my foundation doesn't look caked on and more natural with this brush but I hate stopping and picking black hairs off my face. And it's not shedding when I wash it. Any suggestions?

bextacyaddict

i have the same problem with my 187, and i got mine from a mac store too
ssad.gif

staceb1990

I also have issues with a shedding 109 brush. Everybody says that as long as you're gentle it won't shed, but I'm very gentle and it still sheds.

spectrolite

^^Mine used to shed heaps when I used it for foundations but now that I use it with powders and for highlighting which I think is its purpose - no shedding whatsoever.

NeonKitty

Mine sheds, definitely, with foundation use. However, the amount of shedding has drastically reduced since I've taken to lightly buffing the foundation on instead of almost grinding it, lol, if you get what I mean. I only get a hair or two if that now.

SassyMochaJess

I also use mine specifically for applying foundation and it sheds like crazy! I don't think there's anything I can do to stop/reduce the shedding. Besides that I love this brush!

blindpassion

I find if you're rough with it, it will shed and the hairs will break as well.

I use it with quite a light hand and get next to no shedding.