Foundation/concealer ref number question.

Hi everyone,

I ask the following question on the Kevin Aucoin forum but didn't really get the answer I needed.

I was wondering if MAC concealers match MAC foundations perfectly.

Here is why I'm asking this question. I'm a TV makeup artist here in Belgium. Lately I abandoned the classic approach of using a concealer that is one shade lighter than the foundation. Personally I find it more natural when the 2 match perfectly. Now, I would only use a lighter shade of concealer if I'm considering sculpting or shading the face of the person I'm working on. I'm not saying this is how everyone should do it, it's just what works for me.

So, does a MAC concealer and MAC foundation with the same ref. number have the exact same color?

Thanks for the help.

Janice

icon_bump.gif

maxcat

Quote:
Originally Posted by CedriCCentriC
Hi everyone,

I ask the following question on the Kevin Aucoin forum but didn't really get the answer I needed.

I was wondering if MAC concealers match MAC foundations perfectly.

Here is why I'm asking this question. I'm a TV makeup artist here in Belgium. Lately I abandoned the classic approach of using a concealer that is one shade lighter than the foundation. Personally I find it more natural when the 2 match perfectly. Now, I would only use a lighter shade of concealer if I'm considering sculpting or shading the face of the person I'm working on. I'm not saying this is how everyone should do it, it's just what works for me.

So, does a MAC concealer and MAC foundation with the same ref. number have the exact same color?

Thanks for the help.

I hear ya.... I do the same thing!!
The short answer is yes... btw the stuff in the little pots is the SAME STUFF as the full coverage foundation... don't be fooled!