Hello From England

Andrew

Hello everyone,

I'm Andrew, I am in England and am stopping by to introduce myself. My background is fine art but I felt like a change after 30 years and have recently trained as a MUA under Maggie Hunt. Maggie is outstanding, a great teacher and mentor and now friend. We get along very well and I am always early for jobs, never ever late..

Celebrity Makeup Artist

.I also trained under Samantha and Nicola Chapman

Samantha Chapman Makeup Artist

Both Sam and Nic are ex MAC and are now established freelancers here in the UK (some of you may know them as Pixiwoo). I had a really good grounding from all three and wont go far wrong with what they taught me but now its time for me to spread my wings a bit.

Well this is where I am at, my work is mainly very classic, you wont go far wrong with a good classic look IMO but I am also interested in the stronger more runway looks and Avant Garde work such as that of Serge Lutens and Alex Box..both poles apart but very talented..I know there are others out there who produce equally stunning work but I name these two as examples. Being a guy I dont wear make up (honestly I dont..I'd look like a trucker with Lipstick on ) so the learning curve is huge as to what does what and what works best so I am really finding my feet..

On the positive I find eyelining very easy, I am a fiend with liquid liner, and am begining to like Gel liners as well..I did find them a bit clumsey at first but a change of brush altered that, I apparantly do a good cut crease (more by luck than judgement I assure you) and I blend eyeshadows quite happily..I would dearly like more definintion and strength in my colours but that will take practice and many many faces..I actually plucked my first brows today (on an unsuspecting model)..I used Lady Ga Ga as my template and they came out great.