How Many Palettes Are Needed?

Mochahantas

I'm not a newbie to MAC however, I am a newbie collector of MAC.
mac_haul.gif

I would like to know, in your honest opinion, how many (empty) MAC palettes does one need? My goal is to have all the must-haves. I'm not trying to have every color in the rainbow, just the basics.

For example instead of 50-11 greens, I want a dark green, a regular green, and a lime green. Instead of having 15 blues, I would like a navy blue, a sea blue, a light blue, and a turquoise blue (just an example).

I'm thinking I need 2-3of the 15 palettes, but I'm unsure. What do you think?

gildedangel

Well if you want that many eyeshadows I would say around 3-5. You need to go through and plan how many you eventually want first, I would suggest growing your collection and buying more palettes as you go, especially with L/E eyeshadows.

TISH1124

Right...or just buy the palettes you need now plus maybe 1-2 extra...I always keept 2 extra just for growth....But then again you can always buy them as you need them...

Mochahantas

Thanks guys! I'm thinking of starting with three and then see where that goes. I just don't want to have tons and tons of stuff that I don't need.

ForgetRegret

With MAC, you'll never have tons and tons of stuff that you don't need...as you get deeper into your collecting, you'll realize that you need it ALL.

blindpassion

I started with one
ssad.gif

Now I have 11.
Its how the cookie crumbles lol.

(one for:
blues, teals, purples, highlights, neutrals 1, neutrals 2, yellows oranges pinks, blacks whites, greens, blushes 1, blushes 2)

MrsMay

Quote:
Originally Posted by blindpassion
I started with one
ssad.gif

Now I have 11.
Its how the cookie crumbles lol.

I'm with ya hun! I also started with one... and now I have 10 e/s palettes lol. (and two empty palettes for expansion
lol.gif
)

My excuse is that at least 4-5 of those are filled with pressed pigments
winkiss.gif

Tahti