Kit-building on the cheap

Hi all-

I'm beginning to build a kit, but since I'm still a student, I'm kind of concerned about money. I've checked a lot of the kit recs (inmykit, petrilude, some stray posts on specktra.net), but I definitely can't afford to trick out my kit with all MAC/MUFE products at present. I'm basically working on getting a kit assembled so I can start portfolio-building before I try to freelance or job-search.

My big question is if there are any affordable, but high-quality brands that I can substitute? Do any of you have experience using them in your kits?

th_confused_new.gif
I'm especially concerned about brushes, because MAC brushes are largely out of the question for now. I was thinking of trying Crown brushes, since they're a wholesaler for a lot of MU lines' private labels and I've heard good things about them.

Shanneran

Hey There
greengrin.gif

You absolutely can use more affordable products to build your kit! When i first started out, i had to keep myself on a pretty strict budget, and built it up as i went along.. some of the products that i used were:

Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Really good quality foundation in large color range and oily and dry formulas)
Avon Lipsticks
Avon Pencils (LIP, EYES, BROWS) (----you can get these for like 89-99 cents sometimes)
Sigma Brushes (alot like mac brushes, at lower prices but i htink you can only get them online)

I cant think of what else, but i hope that helps you!

mac_arp4ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shanneran

Revlon Colorstay Foundation (Really good quality foundation in large color range and oily and dry formulas)
Avon Lipsticks
Avon Pencils (LIP, EYES, BROWS) (----you can get these for like 89-99 cents sometimes)

i love all of these things (good choices shanneran!) i just started using revlon colorstay because i got tired of the mineral makeup and the makeup brushes scratching my face...i can just paint that on and it doesn't break me out at all! i got the oil free ones...