My Weird Demo Today...

tabou82

OK, after months of lurking around my neighboring M.A.C counter, I decided to put in an application in October 2007. Earlier this week, I recieved a callback from the new counter manager to come in today for an interview. Well, I was super psyched about it to say the least because I have always wanted to work for M.A.C. Suprisingly, I wasn't nervous leading up to the demo but today I was all nerves!

Since my Bestie went to ATL for the weekend and my little sister went back to college, I asked my Aunt to be my model. I've never done make-up on her before so I did a practice run prior to the interview just to get a feel for her features, undertones, likes and dislikes cosmetically. She doesn't wear make-up, only kohl eyeliner and is very conservative. I chose to use Arena, Swiss Chocolate, Corduroy & Shroom for her day look with Blacktrack fluidline, Zoomlash, PeachTwist Blush, Cork, Honey Flower & VGV for lips. She has very good skin so there was no need to use concealor or full-coverage foundation. This was acceptable to her and that is the look I completed for the "daylook" during the demo.

Well, when I arrived on time, many of the MUA were pretty scattered (my interview was for 1pm) so I asked one of the MUA if the manager was present as I was there for an interview. Everyone was very nice and when the manager came out she was really sweet. She's new to the counter so I don't have a feel of her personality but she seemed genuine and I like her. She stated that she would be with me in a minute which gave me time to calm my nerves. When she returned from the back, she asked me if I was ready to get started on the demo. I was a little taken back because I'd read all you guys posts where you verbally interviewed first or prior to the demo. I guess I thought I was going to be able to sit down first and let her get a feel of my personality and love for M.A.C. but I dove head first into the demo.