Phone Interview

I am currently a free lance artist and I am applying for A 3rd Key Position and I have NEVER had a telephone interview. What to expect and what do you all think will happen?

Have any of you had similiar interview styles?

Also, what are some of the requirements and prerequisites desired for a 3rd key position?

Bernadette

First off, congratulations on the possibilty of your new position
smiles.gif
I hope you get it.

As for the phone interview you should really focus on being clear and well-spoken. No "Umm's" or "Likes" and that kind of stuff. No mumbling or trialing off. Try to be focused and give a clear, well worded response. It's a bit harder to give a full impression of your character over the phone so really avoid those verbal no-no's. Good luck!

MAC_Whore

Good tips, Bernadette. I would also really mentally prepare. Ask yourself the questions that they will most likely ask you and have an answer prepared. Perhaps even write up a little cheat sheet that you can reference througout the interview. Just don't become to dependent on the sheet.

The most important pieces of advice I can give are be prepared for anything (don't get stuck in the idea that they will only ask certain questions) and know when to stop talking. A common method of interviewers is to let interviewees keep talking (aka nervous rambling). That's when interviewees tend to trip themselves up.