salary expectations at a counter?

miinx

Hi guys and gals - i just had a really quick question.

I live in maryland and I am a md licensed makeup artist. I have about 5 years experience in customer service, however not retail. However to reiterate, I *am* licensed and trained by the md state board of cosmetology for makeup artistry.

Given these factors, how much should I expect when applying as a beauty advisor at a department store counter like macys/nordstroms/etc? At free standing stores like mac/merle norman?

I'm really at a loss as to what to ask for - my teacher said that as a licensed mua in maryland you should be expecting no less than $12/hr because so many applicants wont be licensed, but i'm not so sure.. after all, it is retail.

giz2000

Here's my understanding (keep in mind that I am in FL and you do not need to be licensed here to be a make up artist)...depending on the store you go to, the line and the position you apply for, you can make anywhere from $12.00 to $25.00/hour. I have a friend who is a mua for Bobbi Brown (she is the in-house artist at a Saks) and makes around $24.00/hr. She is not licensed at all. There are other mua's that work for other lines where the average is $16-28/hour. I hope this isn't confusing, and that you found it useful...I kinda confused myself a little...
rofl.gif

circusflavouredgum

It's the same here in L.A., it can be anywhere from about $14-18 in the department stores plus 2 or 3% comission...MAC was higher than that but no comission depending on what store you work in.

I have a friend who is a resident artist at Neiman Marcus and it pays $25 an hour.