Self-tanning beginner - help please :/

luvsic

Hey everyone,

After browsing some of the categories on the subject, I still have a bunch of questions about tanning and self-tanning.

I know there's no such thing as a safe tan, but since it's summer I lay out with my friends for maybe 30-40 minutes 2 times a week in the sun - I don't go to beds AT ALL however and never well, and take all the precautions like moisturizing and using sunscreen to minimize the damage). However, maintenance is the hardest part of tanning and I know I'm going to lose this tan when I have to kiss summer goodbye, yet I am a total beginner when it comes to self-tanning and I need some help please!!

If it helps, I am not that pale, I am Asian and I would guess i have a light-medium skin tone with yellow undertones.

1) I have looked up two rather cheap products I want to try - Vaseline Healthy Body Glow Daily Replenishing Moisturizer and a Touch of Self-tanner and also Banana Boat Sunless Summer Color Tinted Lotion. Both can be found in the drugstore from what I've heard. However, can these only be applied to the body, or can I apply them to the face as well?

2) What are some good self-tanners for the face? I am Asian and a not too dark skinned, but not too light skinned as well. How can I apply them without making my face look a different color from my body? Specially if they are different brands....

3) Tan maintenance - I don't know it! When you apply self-tanners, do you keep on applying them daily? For the brands I want to get, I don't think the color shows up instantly. I don't just want to keep on applying the tan and then end up looking baked! What is the process for this? I seriously have no clue what to do - apply the self-tanner and for the color to come, then not apply it for the next few days, if I'm allowed to shower in it, etc.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated! TY so much!

Brittni

However, can these only be applied to the body, or can I apply them to the face as well?