Self-taught make-up artist.

terri

I am a self-taught make-up artist, I have been doing make-up for about 3 years working at a high end hair salon. I've have studied through books, a few seminars, from other make-up artists and lots of practice. My question; Is anyone else here a self-taught make-up artist? How many years have you been in the industry? What where your learning curves? Do you want to go to make-up school still? Do you feel accomplished in your proffession? Have you done any tv/film work? Do you have any advice to give that you wish you had been given earlier in your career?
Thank you for your time
Terri

aeni

I'm self taught - have been for 7 years. It first started in books and practice. Now it's just whatever I draw, doing it, and the products I use. I'm also a full time college student and greatly considering going up to Vancouver after graduation because I feel like I do well in a learning environment over retail environments.

I'm happy with my work, but unhappy with my self-selling and promoting skills simply basing it off of what I hate when others do that. I've done film, photography, and few events. I've gotten some good jobs and some contacts, but I'm in a terrible town with terrible industry. No one's really given me any good advice that I can remember, I've learned it all on my own and I'm still learning and going through the ups and downs and "dryspells".

Henna_Spirit

i'm compltly self-taught and only do this job because of a happy 'accident' lol. I've been doing hair and makeup professionally (as in paid for) for about 1,5 years now. I only sort of practiced playing wiht makeup at a newbie standard for about 2-3 years.