Why is everyone getting promoted but me?

c00ki312

Im only 20 and full time student but work weekends in retail. I've been working there for over 2 years and feel like Im going nowhere (even though it is only part-time). Two members of staff started a year after me and now have already moved up the ladder to supervisor. Then I found out in my staff meeting that the general manager has picked 7 more staff to train for supervisor. 5 of whom started a year or later after me.

That might not sound like a big problem, but the fact that those five come into work, clock in then disappear from tills during their shift makes me wonder HOW and WHY they were offered a higher position. I have thought about this position for a long time but never had the courage to ask to be given more responsibilty cuz the way I see it, if Ive not been praised for my work, I must be doing something bad! During those three days I work, I work my ass off! I volunteer for jobs other people refuse to do, I take on more shifts, I get on with staff and managers and customers have commented on my good customer service. I'm not trying to sound like a big-head but I know I work hard and managers see it, but still I get nothing...but the slackers who just chat and complain are moving up! lol I feel so down not motivated anymore...what should I do?

so anyway end of my rant, I'm a bit tired and kinda pissed. If anyone has words of wisdom, I would so appreciate it
greengrin.gif

makeupgal