do you match foundation to your face or your neck? (for med-dark skin prone to oxidation)

do you match foundation to your face or your neck? (for med-dark skin prone to oxidation)

hey there, total newbie here, even though i'm probably too old to be (almost 22, hehe)!
i've got combo skin with a moderately oily t-zone, my face is about 2 shades darker than my neck. idk how, most people have lighter faces than necks, I hear?
huh2.gif

soo decided to start using foundation but picking a shade is proving to be so confusing omg!
i'd like a mostly matte finish, because it's really hot/humid here most of the year, dewy ones just won't last on me.
I have some light acne that flares up and goes down along with my menstrual cycle, pretty wicked dark circles, and pigmentation around my mouth. not sure if the last one is skin problem or not tbh. i'm actually a heavy caffeine drinker, which i'm told can cause discolouration around the mouth? my mom actually said i should get it bleached but im afraid of what it might do to my skin. D:

the mua matched me with Syracuse in the Nars All-Day, and 7.0 and 8.0 in UD Naked Skin.
Now she swatched all of these on my hand. Syracuse was a perfect match, as was the UD 8.
UD 7 seemed too light at first but as the day went on I noticed it sort of oxidised and got to a shade that seemed a better fit than the previous two.

ik this is like, a ton of info but i'd really like to get some proper advice before i buy any of these.

MzBrownBeauty

Hi!

The oxidation is from having oily skin and the type of foundation your using. I would try a concealer around your mouth, acne spots and for your dark circles. I use BB's under eye corrector when I haven't gotten enough ZZZ's & a concealer. Get a few samples from wherever you want to purchase the foundation, apply & see how it looks as the day goes on. Swatches on your hand doesn't really give you a good gauge.

pinkcrush