I dont know what to do anymore...

So I dont know if this goes in this section or the hair section but i need advise. Ive been working for a rental stylist for 6 months and for 6 months ive been struggling. I get paid $100/wk. Thats $2.50/hr. At first I agreed because i was supposed to be getting classes for free 2x a month but ive had 2 classes. Ive tried to take to her and she says assisting is hard and anyone who is self motivated would do this for free but I cant afford it. And ive been doing makeup when the makeup artist is out and ive come to realize I LOVE doing makeup way more than I love doing hair. I dont know what to do anymore but I do know that i need to make more money. Please give me your advise
th_dunno.gif

AmiS4ys

Honestly, I would have to attempt to get another job. The assumption that "If you really wanted to do this, you'd do it for free", is a bit unrealistic. You have bills, payments, a life! You may need to look elsewhere and consider this only as experience.

anita22

Well I'm not in the industry (or even close to it) but I find it unbelievable that anyone could expect you to go on working for so long for so little money and so few benefits. Yes in some cases you might work for free or almost nothing to get experience, but as you rightly pointed out you were expecting some kind of benefit in return (in terms of both training and experience). The fact that she is unwilling to honour your initial arrangement regarding classes definitely rings warning bells for me, it sounds like she is taking advantage of you. And also that you now have 6 months experience behind you, yet you are still expected to work for almost nothing?? How are you supposed to progress if you are not learning the right skills? Or does she want you to work for basically nothing forever? In any job, there should be SOME plan for you to develop your skills so that you can move up, so that even if you start out on a low wage, there is still an opportunity to move up.