My poor newly minted :( Do matte/matte2 eyeshadows shatter easier?

vocaltest

Mods: Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

I just depotted some more eyeshadows into an another 'everyday' pallette and i depotted my first matte2 shadow, and its cracked
ssad.gif
its not fully shattered, just cracked really. Do they all do this??

IMG_6432small.jpg

Poor newly minted! Looks like a cave in it!
You can tell I'm not very good at depotting... Twinks got a fingernail in it.

TIA!

blindpassion

How do you depot your shadows? Try the straightening iron method, I used to use the lighter method and that just doesnt work half as good as the iron. I feel your pain though! I was depotting blushes the other day and I pretty much ruined my joyous beauty powder blush!
ssad.gif

vocaltest

I used the no heat method from Enkore on youtubes tutorial! Some of them came out perfect, some didn't (newly minted!!). Theres no way im gonna use the flat iron method, I'm not gonna ruin my £135 ghd's! I do have some cheapo ones somewhere though, is there a good tutorial for it??

blindpassion

Dont worry about ruining your straightening iron, I have a 300$ (canadian) salon quality straightening iron and Ive depotted many a eyeshadow and blush with it
Having the high heat makes it work even better
You put wax paper down on the iron (which doesnt melt or burn) to protect the surface of the iron
Im going to find the tutorial for it now for you.

vocaltest

ok thank you! next time i depot i'll try and have a go with the irons, thank you for the links!!

MAC_mallory

I use the flat iron method too, and it's the only way that I can successfully depot my shadows without ruining them.

Primula

I've had a few matte eyeshadows crack when I depotted them. They seem way more frail to me, because it hasn't happened with any of my other eyeshadows. My poor Pen 'N' Pink reeeally did not like being depotted; it completely cracked
ssad.gif

ratmist

Quote:
Originally Posted by vocaltest