Am I the only one fed up with beauty writers?

ThePowderPuff

I am a journalist and have always found the topic of beauty journalism and writing about beauty interesting. But I get so dissapointed everytime I read beauty and fashion magazines about beauty.

As journalists we are taught to be skeptical, critical and investigative, but somehow that all vanishes when it comes to writing about beauty.

The beauty pages in the big fashion magaznes and the beauty magazines themselves are - at least here in Denmark - filled with comercial-like descriptions of all the amazing things that the products can do, just copy-pasted from the manufacturers product descriptions.

I have yet to see an article in a magazine actually investigating the claims that the cosmetics companies make, and actually doing some critical investigation. I have simply never seen it.

For instance yesterday I was reading in the danish version of Elle. They had a long article about the best cremes out there. It was only about cremes that costs 250 dollars+ and it did not once actually discuss whether there was scientific basis for claiming all the things that the cremes claim they can. All it said was, that when a creme was that expencive, it was ofcourse also that much better.
thmbdn.gif

Am I the only one, who would like to read critical beauty journalism, actually investigating producers claims?

Or do we actually only want to read rosy things about the dream world the beauty industry is?

(I appologize for bad spelling etc. English is not my native language)

hello_kitty

If they don't say positive things, they'll lose advertisers. And with a hurting and economy (at least in the US) and with magazines already struggling as it is in an online world, advertisers are very important to keep.

It's not just the beauty world. I read a lot of the import car enthusiast magazines, and they do the same thing... hype up the products of their advertisers, and don't say anything negative about them.