Applied, and I'm a bit confused!!

Artphr33k

Allrighty. I'm kind of new in my town, but I have been doing make-up for a decent amount of time and I'm knowledgeable about MAC products and their names/uses, etc.

I applied at MAC (Dillards) about a month ago... I just went in, filled out an app with a resume, and turned it in. Chatted a bit with the girls and learned a bit about them (they complimented my outfit and purse
thmbup.gif
) and then left. I figured it would be nice, since I know if you're nice to them and whatnot they will definitely say nice things about you to whoever is on top of the hiring process, if they can.

Before I left, I asked if they were actually hiring, and the girl said "we are going to have a position available, so it would be good to apply".

But when I called about a week ago to ask on the status of my app, the artist said something like "we aren't allowed to talk about hiring procedures, or if there are positions available, but know that your application is kept on file"... i was like WTF because in my current job, 'on file' means on this huge cabinet, organized by month, just collecting dust and cobwebs.

are MAC MUA's really not allowed to talk about that stuff? Should I maybe try calling when the manager is there? is there anything I can do to stick to their minds so maybe my application & resume will be looked at more carefully??

thanks!
winks.gif

amoona

We aren't allowed to talk about that stuff. Saying your resume is on file means that your resume is on file. The only times I've seen a resume thrown out is if the person is nutzo or the resume is unprofessional. Just because someone said there was going to be a position avaliable doesn't mean there is one avaliable. MAC often hires from within so a freelancer may have taken the position or someone could have transferred into that location.

Artphr33k