Blending & Brushes

AfricanaEyes

Okayyyyy, so I'm fairly new to Specktra and a complete newbie in the make-up world. I'm in the process of doing my research, purchasing products AND then practicing on my face.

......buuuut, I'm having a tough time with blending. And I know folx are gonna say that MAC has the best blending brushes, and I agree, but what can I used before I purchase a MAC blending brush?

Orrr.....would you all recommend just purchasing a brush? And there are so many. Which one should I get first?

....better yet--what are some techniques for blending? I feel like I'm doing a terrible job.
weeping.gif
Heeeeelp!

MsCuppyCakes

I have MAC brushes and Art store brushes from Michaels and Blick. I just look at MAC's brushes and try to find a duplicate at the art store. They work great IMO (in my opinion).

The key to blending, IME (in my experience), is to pack on my color, then blend out as necessary.

yummy411

anything with makeup, i usually experiment with drugstore brands first before investing my money on something i don't know much about... brushes included. i would reach for anything that says crease brush, blending brush, angle brush...... anything that looks like it could help you blend. rule of thumb on brushes.. the softer they are the softer your colors with be. the denser they are the more bold your looks will be and they will pick up more color to place on your eye... HTH

aziajs

For your first brush I would recommend either the 224 or the 239.

M87N_261.jpg

The 224 is has a medium-size head with a rounded shape, dome and medium density. It's great for blending, crease work, applying a wash of color and building shadows.

M87Y_261.jpg

The 239 is a more dense brush with a flatter head. It has a rounded end as well. It's great for blending, packing on color, crease work.