Blonde for Black-haired people

khadijah

I have naturally black hair and i want to try putting in honey blonde or caramel highlights in them. I've never tried cool colors before because i know it would not turn out the way i want it too. Because of my natural haircolor, blonde/caramel/medium browns would turn brassy and warmer than it should be. Therefore, I've only dyed my hair with shades that has reddish/purplish tones in them.

I need advice, should i get a pre-lightener kit? if so, does anyone have tips on how to use them or brand recs? Any other suggestions welcomed
smiles.gif

Oh and I'm too broke to do it at a salon.

ruby_soho

If you want to get light highlights in black hair then I would suggest buying two bleach kits. Well actually, I would suggest going to a salon because it's tricky! But you can't always go, I know that. So yeah I would section off all the hair you want to lighten, apply the bleach and keep it on the time it suggests. You can also put on a shower cap and blowdry it to heat up the bleach, helping to speed up the process and penetrate the shaft better. If it turns brassy and orange, which it will, don't wash it out because that's just a level it goes through while lifting out the colour. If your hair isn't at the level you would like it be by the time the bleach is finished processing then start with the second bleach kit. After that round is done apply the dye.

I've used Herbal Essences bleach, L'Oreal bleach, and Manic Panic's Flash Lightening myself. I really don't remember any one being significantly better than the other, they all burn and itch like mad. I hope any of what I said helps, and post pictures when you're done!

Cruella