Cinema Secrets Foundation Journal

little_angel

I don't post much, but I'm a makeup artist in Alaska. I am transitioning my kit away from MAC, and I just recently purchased a full color range of Cinema Secrets foundation (thank you CameraReadyCosmetics.com!). I want to really know this product in and out, so I'm wearing it myself for a few days to see how it works and how it reacts to my skin.

Me: Borderline Oily skin, very oily in the T-zone. Very acne prone. Black hair, brown eyes, NW-20. MAC Studio Fix Fluid user of several years.

DAY 1: First off, I feel pretty stupid because I thought you were supposed to sheer the product out, so I had been mixing it with RCMA thinning oil and it made me hate the finish. Totally not necessary! I read up on CS's website and realized I'm a doof. Anyway, I used a MAC 190 brush and applied the product in short brisk strokes over my clean, moisturized face. At first I thought I needed to pick up more product, but when I drew the brush across my face, I was alarmed at how well the foundation spread and how thin the layer was while still maintaining full coverage. Someone reviewed it on MUA and they said it looked like a 'second skin' which I didn't fully understand until I put it on. It looked like my own skin, but minus the imperfections (of which I have many!). I am using color #506-1 I think, but I'll have to check again when I get home. The color range is phenomenal, and it was very easy to find a true match to my skin tone. I set it with a TINY bit of MAC blot powder on my T-zone.

Lunchtime: Hmmm... it's still here! One spot where I have a scabby ex-pimple is showing through, but the product hasn't migrated, and SHOCKINGLY I don't look really all that shiny. Normally I'm blotting myself with a kleenex once or twice mid-day. No kleenex needed so far. My nose is a little dry and flaky right now from the weather, and the product has collected a little on the flakes. I better exfoliate tonight, or moisturize better tomorrow.