college dropout?

d_flawless

as i've been getting more into make up and beauty products, i'm starting to realize that maybe the conventional route (i'm a college freshman now, but i hate it. partly because i'm away from my family and a lot has happened to us this year, partly because i'm in dorms and i can't stand the people here, partly because i'm just not motivated to be in school) is not for me. i know college isn't for everyone, and if i were going to go to beauty school (i'm considering paul mitchell in downtown SF, since i already go to school in, and am from, the bay area) i would have to really put everything into it, because it's so competitive, but is there anyone else here that has gone to college, realized it wasn't necessarily their thing, and decided to pursue the beauty industry as a profession? i'm not trying to insult anyone by saying it's not a profession, it's just that my family isn't exactly supportive of this, they think it's for people who aren't "good enough" to do something else with their life, which really hurts me, because this is something that ALWAYS been an interest me...i just never considered it before, because i was always taught to look the other way. i've always gotten really good grades (i settled @ my safety school because i got super lazy senior year and decided not to apply anywhere else) all my life, and they just think i'm trying to get out fast, because i don't want to work hard to graduate. that's not entirely true, i just don't want to waste my time doing something that doesn't make me happy; my mom just thinks i'm "settling" and using beauty school as a last resort. make up, beauty products, and hair has always been something i'm into though, so it's like, shouldn't i want to work with something that makes me happy? please guys, if you happen to stumble across this long-ass post, words of insight.
thanks
greengrin.gif

Hawkeye