Does anyone else's counter do this?

GalleyGirl

My counter sells out of stuff like lightning. However, they still keep their LE collections displays up, but just replace the sold out products with products from their permanent collection. For example, I walked into my Nordstrom's the other day, was excited when I saw they still had beauty burst in their display holder, only to pick it up and find out it was antiqued. Arrggghhh, I hate when they do this! What if I was a huge MAC newbie and didn't know any better and assumed I had gotten the L/E shade! (not that it had the barbie silouhette lasered into it, but you know what I mean).

Holly

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalleyGirl
My counter sells out of stuff like lightning. However, they still keep their LE collections displays up, but just replace the sold out products with products from their permanent collection. For example, I walked into my Nordstrom's the other day, was excited when I saw they still had beauty burst in their display holder, only to pick it up and find out it was antiqued. Arrggghhh, I hate when they do this! What if I was a huge MAC newbie and didn't know any better and assumed I had gotten the L/E shade! (not that it had the barbie silouhette lasered into it, but you know what I mean).

I think they do that to make the display seem "full", all the counters and freestand stores I've been to do this.

amoona

They all do that, they replace the sold out limited edition products with close matches from the perm. line. I don't think its a bad thing, actually I like it. There's two reasons why I like it, one if I ever run out of the l/e product I know what I can use as a close match. The other reason is because I know a lot of people want that l/e color but they can't afford it at the time and they do sell out quick. So if you can't afford it now, then later on you can purchase this as a close match.