Ever been accused of stealing?

cookies

I haven't...at least not directly yet but this week at work, a lot of money has gone missing from the till when it has always balanced perfectly and it's freaking me out. I work in retail and both times when the money went missing, I was working.

Today it happened again and the thing was, there was only me and the manager working. So after she counted the money and it was $15.80 under, she went totally cold towards me, was slamming things around and non talkative. And when I said "I'm really worried about this, I hope the other register is over because I don't get why this is going on", she just gave me a LOOK and didn't reply. And the other till balanced perfectly.

So I don't know what the hell is happening! I know I didn't take the money, but if she didn't take it either then???

The other thing is that I was planning to quit this job in the next few weeks because I've started working in a firm but now that this is happening, it would be like I'm running away? And also I need a clean reference!

I hope this all blows over and that this post is just premature...i just feel sick in my stomach when I think about it because I don't want to work somewhere where I'm in the position of being accused of stealing
ssad.gif

Beauty Mark

I have, around my father's house (don't ask, he's a creep.) Did you both double and triple check it? Make sure the money wasn't sticking together? Do you accidentally not count change right?

I hope things work out for you.

xstephax

i haven't. but i have worked in a few places where money would go missing from the till quite frequently. i never did find out what happened or why it happened with most of them. however, i do know that after i left one of my jobs they fired my old manager because she had been stealing money from the till (about $1000 worth).

maybe you or your manager gave the wrong change back to a few customers and that's why you're missing the money?

MacVirgin