Eyeshadow newbie needs neutrals!!!

shimpaniac

hi everyone...
im really new to this whole eyeshadow thing...i love mac shadows,but honestly i own just two....mulch and sketch...haha...
i have lots more of their lippies,though
winks.gif

I realllyyyyy need help adding two more wearable,preferably non-matte neutral shades to my teeny weeny collection.
Just so you know, satin taupe looked kinda greyish on me, kind of washed me out, i hate woodwinked(dont like golds),it looked orangey on me....i have issue of things looking too orange or too light on me...eww!!
Mulch and sketch look great...so which slightly shimmery ones do i need to complete my first quad???
im NC 35 in studio fix...dark hair and eyes...
Really need you advice,guys!!!
thanks!!!!

LC

texture, ricepaper, charcoal brown (matte, but an awesome versatile color), bronze, era

BeccalovesMAC

Amberlights, Twinks, All that Glitters, Honey lust, Cranberry, Ricepaper, Bronze,Motif, Tempting, club and Sable(kinda looks like mulch). Im NC40( I also hate satin taupe too lol) These are my 'go to' colors if I will do a neutral eye.

Chrystia

This was actually tricky for me! I am such a fan of matte eyeshadows so I'm just itching to list all my favourite neutral mattes that I use religiously on clients. But you asked for some shimmer so here are some that popped into my mind>

Ricepaper as a highlighter colour
Honesty (i pair this with sketch all the time)
Smut (Great for making a one shadow smoky eye)
Sable
All That Glitters (basic colour that works with a lot of things)
Bronze
Texture (Pair this with the sketch also!)

That being said, don't completely ignore the mattes! If you use a shimmery base like Bare Study or Rubenesque under them, they can have a slight shimmered undertone.
Charcoal Brown, Wedge,
Or layers the less shimmery satins over the shimmery base like Cork or Soba.

shimpaniac

heyy...
thanks all...!!!
really heard so much about ATG....haveee to try that now...