Fave shampoo/conditioners for keeping red color-treated hair fresh?

Brianne

I'm coloring my hair red this weekend and I know reds tend to fade the quickest, so what is the best shampoo/conditioner for keeping the color from fading?

PLEASE, no PureOlogy recommendations - that unfortunately is not in my budget. I'd prefer a drugstore option, but up to $10-$15/bottle is fine.

Also, who makes a good color depositing shampoo/conditioner?

user79

I really like the Matrix Biolage Color Care line. It's quite inexpensive in comparison to other salon products, and the smell of the shampoo & conditioner is just soooo good! I love it. And it seems quite gentle on my long coloured hair. I'd give that a try.

CincyFan

I've been coloring my hair a deep red for over 3 years now. I've tried a lot of different products to keep my color fresh. I tried Pureology and I saw color go down the drain. It also made my hair feel like straw.

I made a decision to only use sulfate-free shampoos. Sulfates are harsh and strip red like nothing else. You can find a lot of sulfate-free shampoos in health food stores. I like the Giovanni & Ecco Bella lines but there are others.

The Paves line at Walgreens is sulfate-free. It doesn't have the best scent but it also doesn't last. You can find them on sale BOGO Free.

I personally use Kenra's Platinum line for thick/coarse hair. They make 3 formulas; fine/thin, medium/normal and thick/coarse. The thick/coarse conditioner (reconstructor) that goes with the shampoo has shea butter and make my hair so soft and shiney. And it smells like strawberries, so delicious. I get mine at Trade Secret when they have the line BOGO 50% off.

Also, the Jonathan line at Sephora and on QVC is sulfate-free. I tried it and hated it. That's just me. At least with QVC you can return them if you hate it.