Generic vs. brand name birth control pills

Beauty Mark

I think I know the answer, but I figured I'd ask here as well.

My insurance barely covers brand name pills. My gynecologist insists upon only brand name pills (will prescribe non-brands but unwillingly), because she claims that generics are extremely time sensitive as to when you take them, ie. you have to take them exactly the same time every day and you cannot be off in time, even by a bit. She claims that brand name pills offer more flexibility.

From what I know about generic medicine, it should not make a difference, since the only differences between generic and brand are name, perhaps look, and inactive ingredients. Is she telling the truth about brand name birth control pills? I have my doubts, and I don't believe her, but I thought I'd ask here first.

Dahlia_Rayn

I work in the medical industry, and I'm pretty sure that is an untrue statement. Did you know a lot of doctors will prescribe brand names because they have a relationship with the drug company? Brand names are generally more expensive specifically because they have to recoup costs for the investigative research that goes into developing a drug. Generic prescriptions are still held to the same high FDA standards as other prescription medicine, and I've never heard that timing is more important with generics.

yummy411

hmm interesting that you brought up this topic. i've been prescribed seasonale, but my insurance gave me jolessa. i took my gyn's starter pack of seasonale and felt terribly pregnant (all of the horrible symptoms). the next pack i was using jolessa (the generic) and i didn't feel the way i did while on seasonale. i followed up with the gyn later down the line and he gave me another pack of seasonale. while i'm not feeling terribly sick, i feel weird as if my breasts are getting larger and more sensitive and i feel bloated. i have no idea what the hell is really going on.