Hair newb question: how do you add lift to your roots?

Kragey

I am an absolute newb when it comes to putting styling products in my hair (and I still don't do it often), so bear with me!

I have very fine and obnoxious, but also very long and corkscrew curly, hair. I've recently found ways to keep the corkscrew curls in my hair without having the weight of my hair pull them all out. However, I'm still unable to get any "lift" in my roots. I've tried a few of my mother's products, but I think the real problem is just that I don't know what I'm doing!

I've heard there are ways to lift your roots using just a blow dryer and some hair spray. Is that possible? Please note that I'm new to the hair dryer thing (I don't even own one of my own, although I do plan on purchasing one with a diffuser soon, slash, stealing one from my mother). Also, I would really like to avoid putting extra products in my hair, or anything expensive--I have an anti-frizz glaze, a Garnier curl spray gel, and a travel sized bottle of Tresemme hair spray.

I know that's asking a lot, but is it possible? I don't need crazy huge 80s hair, just a little more lift so that the top of my head looks as nice as the length of it!

Caderas

here's what i got for you..

with a brush - round brushing! for fine hair, try a ceramic/nylon-bristled round brush!

with hairspray - spray on the roots and backcomb until you got the omph that you want.

my honest best advice - try this fairly new product by a company called L'anza. they do a wonder product called Powder Texturizer (L'anza shampoo, hair care, beauty products, and hair style products) and it's done wonders for EVERY client's head that i put it on! it's a small container, but you don't need much per use. it takes quite a few months to get through it! all you have to do is section parts out where you want volume, put a dusting of it on, rub it in the scalp, and backcomb for extra effect!

HTH!

westindiesangel