Help a newbie out! A couple of questions regarding MAC authenticity.

Nastka

Hi there! I've recently bought a few MAC items off eBay (yes, yes, I know...!). I'm pretty new to distinguishing fakes from the real deal, and all I wanted to ask is...:

Do MAC eyeshadows have the logo engraved or painted onto the clear plastic dome? Mine are engraved. Same question with pigments. Engraved or painted onto the pot at the front?

Furthermore, the printing on the box is bolder on the ones I've got off eBay. Also, in a couple, the grammature on the pot and the box don't match up (1.3 grams on a couple of pots, 1.5 on the box)

Everything else seems to check out. The plastic pot itself is identical from the storebought MAC I have. The shadows range in age from '04 to '08. Any help is MUCH appreciated!

Civies

I think the most obvious would be the different gram measuring on the box and pot. It should always be the same. Eyeshadow pots are 1.5g and pigments are 7.5g.

I also just checked out my pigment & eyeshadows and the MAC logo is definitely not engraved because looking at it closely from the side, the pot doesn't 'sink in' like it would if it was engraved. It's raised just the slightest bit because of the paint.

I've never seen fake MAC in person and since I always buy my MAC from the store or warehouses, I'm not very experienced with fake MAC but I just wanted to put my two cents in.

angi

From looking at eyeshadows and pigments the logo is not engraved as such, but if you run your fingers over the logo, you can feel that it is slightly raised.

The information on the boxs and the jars/pots should match up, but weights do vary, for example some pigments were 4.3grams, and some of the eyeshadows (veluxe pearl) are 1.3g.

If you post some pictures of the stuff you got, it might help in identifying the counterfeits.

marusia

Just about anything "out of place" means it's probably counterfeit. There are some great guides in the counterfeit section of the forum.

Civies