Help Needed! Fake Pigments on eBay?!

Darkness

Hi Everyone,

Having read through the counterfeit section about what to look out for regarding fake pigments, I came across a seller on eBay who said she sells genuine pigments and is also a member on here, but she didn’t actually say what her Spectra name was.

However, I went ahead thinking that she would be okay and purchased Provence pigment. I received it the other day but I’m not sure if it is authentic. I noticed that the batch code on the right hand side of the box said A96 (see photo) and I thought this should correspond with the number on the bottom of the jar, which is AC6. I’m also not sure with the printing on the box too.

I’d be much obliged if any of you more experienced fake spotters could help me out with this please.

Cheers,

Ruth

speedygirl247

I am not an expert, but the bottom of the jar looks fake to me. I also have a provence pigment which is a cco purchase, batch is AC6 - on the box and the sticker. the batch code on mine appears above provence on the base sticker.

julie150463

Hi Ruth

From your photos your box does seem to be of the type that marks quite easily and the lid does appear to be more shiny than it should. Do you have any other pigments to compare the container and box too?

TISH1124

Honestly...and don;t take my word for it...But it does not look fake to me..I have a Provence that purchased from the CCO and it looks pretty identical. Pigments have different lot codes depending on the mfg date. Does the little plastic insert that covers the pigment have like a 4-digit upraised number that you can feel with your fingers if you rub them across the plastic...

I would ask purrtykitty she is always so good with the lot code numbers IMO

redambition

This one looks suspicious.

the top of the box has notches cut out of it - this is unusual as the authentic boxes i have seen don't. It also looks quite scratched up. MAC boxes don't tend to scratch easily.