Help Please - Cooking Advice for a Kitchen phobe

GalleyGirl

So part of my new budget is predicated on my not eating out so much. However not only do I not know how to cook, but I have no interest in learning. I also have OCD, which has manifested itself in my being afraid of food, esp. if I perceive it to be old or contaminated (all food in a grocery store is contaminated to me because you don't know who has touched it before). Setting aside my psychological issues, do you have any general cooking advice, recipes, etc. for cooking at home when you're a total novice at it? TIA!

*Stargazer*

The first thing to do would be to make a list of meals you actually like eating. You could go out and buy yourself a cookbook today but if you won't eat 90% of the stuff in it, what good will it do you? Once you know what you like, it is so easy to find recipe sites on the web to find good basic recipes.

Also, you can still eat at home and not have to do much "cooking." It isn't always as healthy as cooking from scratch, but you can find plenty of pre-cooked and prepped meals that will still save you money even if they are a bit more expensive than cooking from scratch. One of my favorite no work meals is a bagged salad, some fruit and cheese and a rotisserie chicken. Plus then you have leftover chicken to pick at for days, which means extra meals.

Beauty Mark

I don't want to make you more fearful of the world, but you also don't know the conditions under which your food was cooked when you eat out. At least in your own kitchen you know that you cooked things thoroughly.

How willing are you to eat the same thing several days in the same week? Because I cook enough food at once so that it lasts several days.

Googling recipes is the easiest way to find simple stuff. I recommend making stir fry as often as possible, because you can alter what you put in it, and it's simple enough. I usually use fresh vegetables, but you can always use frozen.