How do you answer...

*Luna*

The interview question:

"What are your weaknesses" or "What do you need to improve on"

I'm not looking for a job or anything but the post below got me thinking about interviews and new jobs. I am always asked this question and never quite know how to respond. You never want to say anything negative about yourself, of course, but you have to answer!!! Sooo... What do you say when asked a question along those lines? Maybe next time I am job hunting I can be better prepaired
winks.gif

Willa

I always respond something like :
I just started a new way to remind myself my schedule, I take a lot of notes and read them often.

It works everytime
lol.gif
winks.gif

amoona

Well when I interviewed with MAC I was very very honest about what my weaknesses are. I told them as far as artistically my weaknesses are that I have only had 1 years worth of experience freelancing and I don't feel like I've yet been exposed to enough of a variety of make-up artistry. Then I told them my other weakness was when speaking to people I tend to talk really fast, especially with stuff that I love (like MAC) and I stutter so talking fast+stuttering is interesting lol.

The second weakness usually gets everyone laughing haha but I never knew how to answer that so I was always honest and I always felt in every job my speed talking/stuttering was something I need to slow down on so I don't lose customers.

MiCHiE

In my experience, I've found that it is important to list at least one weakness and be honest about it. Everybody has something that they want to improve on. You should also explain what steps you're taking to overcome it. You have to have a plan of action.

Urbana

it hasnt happened to me, thank god :p
i would be kind of shocked in that case, i could say... im prefectionist and i like to work alone better than with more people doing the same job

user79

Quote:
Originally Posted by franimal
I'm a perfectionist is the classic safe answer