I need help with stage makeup! (waterproofing...)

ballerino

Hi All!

I'm a newbie to Specktra, and im not a makeup artist as such, im a full time ballroom dancer. I do my partners makeup for competition and have done so for about 2 years, and i absolutely love it! It's so fun getting different ideas from different photos - though being i've not had any official makeup training (have only had 2 or 3 lessons from a local makeup artist..) and this kinda gets frustrating bc i don't have that official background of knowledge...

ANYHOW! Getting to the point.... I use MAC creme liner on my dancing parter, and i use quite a bit of it considering it's to be seen out on a huge, brightly lit floor. Somehow tho, the liner smudges underneath when she smiles?! (the cheeks creasing against the under-eye area) I only use water with the creme, and only a little water at that. I started using a Kryolan Cake eyeliner sealer - to waterproof it, though it only made it worse!
th_confused_new.gif
I really want to have a strong emphasised line around her eye using the creme, though how do i make it more solid and waterproof?
Also, her e/s in general get's a bit 'funky' by the end of the day (the competitions we dance at go from 9am till 12 pm...!) and i always find myself touching it up (or in extreme cases re-doing the e/s at the end of the night!) Is e/s base/ primer all its craked up to be? I use a primer on hers and my face which seems to hold the foundation great, though im seriously thinking of using a e/s base. Would it also be worth looking into kryolan e/s? because considering how much dancers sweat, maybe i should be looking for a waterproof e/s....?

Sorry about all the writing, this is my first post, i've got so many q's:!:

Thanks all!
-Damian

melozburngr

a great liner that NEVER comes off are the fluidliners.. and they come in a a lot of great colors... for 13.50 in the US.. not sure how much down under. :p