If u've worked/are working @ a MU Counter, I need your help!

jeanna

I recently decided (well, more like my credit card debts decided for me!!) that I need to get a second job working part-time on top of my regular Mon-Fri office job. So I figured, if I have to work 7 days a week, I should at least have some fun with makeup, right?!

Anyway, I've never worked at a makeup counter before so I need some tips! I have worked in retail though. My biggest challenge is updating and tailoring my resume to this sort of job. I think that I am confident enough in my experience with makeup and makeup application, and I'm confident I can sell them on my retail skills, but it's putting these down on a resume that is the hard part. Because I've never worked @ a counter, what are some common terminology that employers are looking for? How can I translate my retail (selling clothing) and office skills into the cosmetics/beauty consulting field?

I welcome any and all tips you guys can offer... from getting my foot in the door and the job hunt itself, expected skills/responsibilities, interviewing, etc. ANYTHING that will help get me in the right direction! Thanks in advance for your help!!

Oh, if it makes a difference, I would like to apply to the following counters: Clinique, Shiseido, Cargo, Benefit, Estee Lauder.

Thanks!

Chelsea

Hi jeanna
smiles.gif
I got your pm... anyways.. the most important thing is having some retail/sales experience. They just want to know that you're good at customer service.

I would apply for the busiest counters, you have more opportunity to make money. I'd go for clinique or EL. Cargo would be fun but it's dead and I doubt you'd get many hours.

For your resume, as long as it is professional it is good. Try to get friendly with the person who is doing the hiring. Make it known you have a passion for makeup.

jeanna

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chelsea