Jury Duty!

staceb1990

In theory, jury duty kind of sounded like fun. But now that I actually have to do it, I'm kind of nervous. I'm really surprised they picked me; I'm 18, unregistered to vote, and still in high school. They probably won't actually have me do anything in the end, but I'm just curious. Has anybody ever been on jury duty?

User35

I have never had to do jury duty because Im a Peace Officer in the state of California. Theres a box to check only the jury duty summons. Annnnywho. Ive done bailiff duty before during a "voire dire", its the fancy court word for jury selection.

There will be a bunch of ppl there...the judge, prosecution, defense and possibly defendant there as well. The judge will ask a bunch of questions to all the possible jurors. Stuff like do you know the defendant? Have you ever been victim of a crime ? a bunch of questions. If you say yes to any of them the judge will ask will that make you biased ? blah blah blahbity blah. If the judge thinks you will be biased they might dismiss you. Near the end the defense and prosection will have the opprotunity to ask you questions and dismiss you as well.

Its interesting sitting in on those things.

P.s make sure you turn off your cell phone. Ive been in courtrooms where if your phone rings you get chewed out by the judge and get a fine for disrupting the courtroom.

astronaut

I think if you're still in high school then you don't have to serve. You have to tell them. They say those in high school "don't have enough understanding of the judicial system" or something like that.

I have jury duty this month actually.

MACATTAK