M.A.C. Family, what does their Conflicts of Interest rules entail?!

HI lovelies!
I just got hired at M.A.C. as a freelance makeup artist
yahoo.gif
(YEAH!!) but the code of conduct is very strict on their Conflict of Interest rules, but does not exactly specify this question.

As a freelance artist I am not guaranteed hours every week until I can become a perm artist with them. i am looking for something part time to fill in the gaps, because unfortunately I still haven't won the lotto and need to work.
werd.gif

Can I work for other companies such as the DISNEY store or Gap to say; or would this be considered a conflict of interest because they are not owned by Estee Lauder? Or does the retail position just have to be something that does not compete with M.A.C. like Sephora would?! I read on another thread that working for MACY'S is a Conflict of Interest for us, but I do not understand this because they have M.A.C. counters that I can pick up hours at... please help, I am so confused!

thanks guys!
noob.gif

lillakatt

First of all, I would definitely ask whoever hired you to clarify that rule. They know that freelancers often have to have other work before they become permanent, so it's not like you'd be the only person asking that question.

I'm an SA at a department store (cosmetics, but not MAC) and our store has a conflict of interest policy. You can't work at any store that sells products that our store sells. You can cut/style hair, but you can't work at a store that sells hair products (so you couldn't work at Ulta or Sally Beauty).