MAC eyeshadow questions

mizvolta

Hi everyone!
I'm a bit new to makeup, and I usually go with basic looks. However, I've been wanting to try out doing more things with my eyes. I use MAC products and I love them, but they are quite expensive! Do you think the eyeshadows/pigments are worth it, or is it better to get a cheaper brand? Are they just overpriced because of the brand name, or are there advantages in terms of the way they look? I was looking at brands like E.L.F., but the extremely cheap price scares me off.
Also, if you believe MAC is better, could you recommend a couple of shadows/pigments that are the most versatile? I have blonde hair, green eyes, I'm quite pale (I wear NC 20 foundation). Thanks so much! I want some evening looks, but it'd be ideal to pick something that could be made dramatic easily? I don't know, so I'll just leave this to your advice.
specktra_rocks.gif

Skin*Deep

MAC is totally worth it, and really it is very reasonable and inexpensive compared to other department store brands of the same quality! I think the color payoff and longevity of the colors leaves Dior and Chanel in the dust.... who needs to pay 30 bucks for an eyeshadow?!

Bonitinha

MAC Pigments are really cool/fun -- but they are pricey and I will never get through a full jar.
I would invest in some good shadows. With your coloring -- I bet purples on your eyes would be gorgeous!
I love MAC colors like Purple Iris (lid), Nocturnelle (crease), Shadowy Lady (outer V/lower lashline), Vanilla (browbone). I also like Sketch, Plum Dressing, and Fig. 1. So many options. Your best bet is to go into a MAC store and ask the artists to do a makeup demo on you.
Try out any colors you like -- I love anything from neturals, to greys/silvers, purples/blues -- it is just finding the right shade of that color that will work. I started out with just a few colors, and now have like 50 shadows. It becomes quite the hobby.
Have fun!

kittykit