Nail Salon Quiz

DaisyPie

I'm currently studying cert 3 in Beauty Therapy (and loving it!), and looking at doing the Diploma next year. While doing so, I'm hoping to start up as a part-time nail tech and so right now I'm working out which brands I am going to be working with, so I thought I'd get some different opinions before I go spending a lot of money.

Please answer these questions in reference to going to a salon (ie: List the brands you'd prefer the salon to be using, not the brands you yourself would buy for at home use)

Nail Polish
* Do you have a brand preference? (eg: OPI, Creative, Hawley, Perfect etc)
* If yes, why is it your preferred brand?
* Would you prefer your nail tech use a brand that is available only to salons, or a brand that can be purchased from a normal retail store? (eg: Loreal, Revlon, Avon etc)
* Would you find it handy for the salon to have the polishes that they use available for you to buy? (eg: So you can do any touch-ups at home inbetween appointments, or if you just really love the colour)
* Which brands would you prefer your nail tech not to use?

Acrylic Nails
* Do you have a brand preference? (eg: NSI, Creative, Ezyflow etc)
* What other brands have you tried, and what were your experiences like?

The kit for acrylic nails that I have chosen to buy is NSI Spa due to the fact that it is odour-less. I chose this for two main reasons: my health and my client's health. I honestly don't know how women can stand to work with acrylic fumes all day, every day.

* What are your thoughts on this?
* Would you be more or less inclined to go to a salon working with odour-less products?

* What would make you more inclined to visit a salon?
* What would make you less inclined to visit a salon?

I am also going to be focusing on doing natural looking acrylics. What are your thoughts on this?
Would you be more inclined to get acrylic nails if they looked natural, or do you prefer the look of fake nails?

Any help would be great!
smiles.gif