Need help PLLLEASE!!! FX Bruises, blood, slashes!!

M.A.C.tastic

Hey Everyone!

Ok, so I am doing makeup for a friends movie. First time for both of us, him directing, me doing fx makeup (I am a licensed makeup artist but I do glamour makeup). I need to know where to buy good blood, good bruise makeup and slash/cuts or other pre-made prosthesis. Also, any tips for making it look real would be great too. I know there are a lot of real professionals on here so help me out. Thanks in advance!!!!!
clap.gif

j_absinthe

Corn syrup and red food coloring is the staple for fake blood (Maricino [sic] cherry sauce and chocolate syrup have also worked as well.)

For the perfect bruise, try this (using MAC products):

Lay a base of concealer on the eye or flesh-toned Paint (whatever tone the person's flesh happens to be.)

With a 239, lay on some Chrome Yellow (depending on how old you want the bruise to look, modify the amount of yellow to that.)

With a 213, pat on splotches of Shadow Lady, Embark, Purple Haze, Espresso, Omega and/or Bamboo (again, depending on the intensity, use which ever colors work for you.)

Set with some powder, apply a light layer of Chrome Yellow over the area. Finish off with Bat Black CCB. I've used this and I got so many "OMG, are you ok???" comments.

Your best bet is to just look up images of injuries for something natural.

Hope that helps a bit.

giz2000